Functional Skills Reforms

Functional Skills Reforms

Eleven awarding organisations are expected to offer the new Functional Skills qualifications at Level 1 and 2 from September and seven of these will be offering Entry Level as well. City & Guilds, IQ, NCFE, NOCN, OCR, Pearson and Open Awards are all expected to have the full range of qualifications, and AQA, Highfield, Future Quals and Skillsfirst will be offering Level 1 and 2 only.

There will be more specific common content aimed at increasing comparability between the AOs. The content also reflects the DfE curriculum intention that reformed Functional Skills should include assessment of underpinning knowledge.

  • For English, this means a focus on spelling, punctuation and grammar without dictionaries or computer aids; and at Entry Levels there are now detailed reading and spelling expectations based on the structured teaching of phonics.
  • For maths, this means more of an emphasis on the underpinning knowledge and skills required to solve mathematical problems. This includes using times tables and working with and without a calculator.

Read how ForSkills have got the Reforms covered.

Read more on the FE News story.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.